A 3 track house single (19m 53s) — released July 14th 2017 on Sunlightsquare Records

Sunlightsquare's first single of 2017, Oyelo, is a mixture of Jazz, Cuban and House music in its most authentic form. Starting with moody latin-jazz piano and sun-drenched live percussion played by master percussionist Giovanni Imparato, the track is driven by the classic house beat of the TR-909 - the legendary 1980's drum machine. Ronnie Scott's resident Cuban singer Rene Alvarez delivers the impassioned vocals, followed by the main man Claudio Passavanti's heated Montuno piano riffs, which combine seamlessly to create a blissful, dance-floor experience. It's a perfect marriage of organic grooves, lush beats and soulful vocals, joining the dots between different generations of latin dance music.

For the B side, London based, Japanese producer Kay Suzuki transformed the original track into his signature psychedelic journey in 2 parts. His By The Sea Mix takes you to the Havana beach with its synthesiser generated waves & seagulls right from the intro. The stripped-down beats and vocals are smoothly laid out with warm analogue synth textures, giving more space to Claudio's tasteful latin-jazz keyboard improvisations.

In contrast, the Drum Dub goes to the opposite side of the spectrum, all the musical elements have been removed, focusing solely on the live percussion and the raw TR-909 beat, all dubbed out with tape delays for a classic cosmic dub treatment.

Short Bio:

Critically acclaimed Jazz pianist, multi-instrumentalist & bandleader Claudio Passavanti aka. Sunlightsquare has been associated with Latin & Cuban music since his top selling vinyl releases such as "I Believe In Miracles"(2010), "Pastime Paradise"(2010) and "Heart's Desire"(2012) as well as producing the main title of the soundtrack on the feature film "Cuban Fury" (Studio-Canal/Film4) starring Nick Frost (2014). Claudio's talent also extends to house music production with the 2016 Osunlade's Yoruba Soul Records release Celebration Of Oggun, as well as his remix work for Gilles Peterson's Brownwood Recordings.


Vocals: Rene Alvarez

Piano Keyboards, Bass, Additional Backing Vocals: Claudio Passavanti

Percussion: Giovanni Imparato

Editing, Additional Mix: Kay Suzuki

By The Sea and Drum Dub Remixed by Kay Suzuki

Produced by Claudio Passavanti

2017 Sunlightsquare Records Ltd. All Rights Reserved

love the new EP!!! Classic. RESPECT. - Osunlade Yoruba Records

Oh wow, wonderful record. - Hunee Rush Hour Recordings

I will be playing this one for sure. Hopefully there is more to come. Respect !!! - Ron Trent Prescription

Loving this! afro cuban jazz with the perfect pinch of electronica - DJ Spinna Wonder-full

Just perfect... Always... - Atjazz ARCo

Sunlightsquare always bringing that proper dancefloor flavor, Oyeloooo!! - Jose Marquez Fania/Tribe Records

Love Kay Suzuki mix - Colleen Cosmo Murphy Classic Album Sundays / Lucky Cloud Sound System

Bravo Claudio, top quality, nice vibes for this summer - Kiko Navarro BBE

Isn't this delightful? - Bradley Zero Rhythm Section / NTS Radio

it's a beast. record of the year for me so far, it's soooo good. People go nuts over it. Really massive well done - John Gómez Rush Hour / Music From Memory

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.